Clinical Days as a Nursing Student

I was planning to do this post about my clinical days as a Nursing Student. Basically what do I do during my shift at the hospital. And it’s not like boring instructions on what I am really doing there, but sharing/documenting a bet of my work life and the most important moments that have happened to me!
Are you all curious about what makes me away from my blog, or away from my real social life! Well.. there you are! I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I enjoyed my clinicals first, plus sharing it with you.
image

This blog is about my shifts in pediatric wards, I went to the Nursery and the Neonatal Intensive Care Unit aka (NICU).
Ps: This is my first course on pediatric nursing.

image

When I was in the Nursery, my heart couldn’t stay in its place once I passed through the electronic locked door. I passed the glass wall, and my feelings changed immediately! I don’t know what you call this, but let me call it ‘Babies Mojo’. The Nursery was filled with babies cribs. It was almost like a ‘Babies Factory’, seriously?! At least for my dramatic mind, it is!
Now let me tell you a secret about me. I have never held babies before, especially newborns! Not really.. Few times, but they aren’t enough, so hence the over reacting! But no worries, my teachers did a trail on how to hold new born, and I passed it with ‘too secure’ so be optimistic, I am not that bad!!
Then my teacher asked me to feed a baby, she said I want you to set on that chair, and I will give him to you. Honestly she slaps my self esteem to the ground, but I felt fully prepared. I am wearing a medical goan, my hands are clean, I have done much harder procedures on adults, and I am on a solid ground! What else would go wrong! The moment the baby start to suck, I told him ‘aww honey I am honored’. The following days whenever I enter I say ‘ Good morning you cutie chicks’, and I jump into every crib to check on the babies position and faces! My teacher allowed me to carry babies as much as I liked, she through jokes on me – she has been a nurse for over 16 years- , like how the hell I am a senior Nursing student, and can’t carry a baby! But at the end the day, she told me that she saw me enjoying doing my job, and that impressed her!
I did a full assessment for a new born who was less than hour of age! I participated in the document of his measurements. And whooo. He was ready to join the Nursery!

image

I agree with scientists who say that newborns are highly intelligent humans, and are not just an alarm that break off in case of emergencies!! And yes, caring for them is exhausting, you ends up as a zombie before 8 p.m! Now let me take you through my experience which made me agree with such theory!

1.I was told to feed one of the babies, I came to his crib and he has a strange look on his face,but my doubts were confirmed the moment I held him, his face expressions just turned into disgusting face with a pendol like eye movement! If you can hear him say something that moment, he would say “What the Fuck is this?”. I tend to add drama to situations like this inside my head! So I was mouthing “Sorry but supposedly you’re hungry and I have to feed you, like I apologize you have to have me caring for you, but I am not letting you starve, you’re an infant for God sake”. I tried to give him the nipple, so he starts to suck, but the milk was dripping on around his lips, and he still has “The disgusting” look on his face. After few seconds, I wiped the dripped milk, and I offered the nipple again and succeed.
image

2.The other preterm girl inside the Incubator, who God bless her, she moves a lot! Like literally the Nurse has to set her back on her preterm pillow, because she reached the Incubator side door! Then when I received her in my shift it was my job to do so! When my teacher came to check on me I told her this girl loves life! Because she didn’t let me do procedures on her! She is vibrant with life! When it was her time to be fed, she was moving her hands to hold on something! I didn’t expect such a move, I was supporting her neck and head with my left hand, and holding the bottle with my right, so I offered my right pinky and my left thumb. she hold tight on them! It was very beautiful moment I wanted to cry!
It was time to take her out of Incubator, she gained enough weight, ready to be exposed to the environment air. I prepared a crib for her. She was settled and about to sleep.
Later, her mother came to visit her. She took her and breast fed her and spend time playing with her, which made me thrilled.
__ Infants feels the separation from their mothers, and if she wanted to know that there was someone for her, I wanted her to know that I am!

14 thoughts on “Clinical Days as a Nursing Student

  1. Holding total newborns scares me a little – I am so afraid I will break them or hurt them on accident. They are so sweet though! Those squishy little faces and tiny little bodies – sounds like a fulfilling/rewarding clinical experience

    Like

  2. I am in awe of you, I don’t think that I could work in a place with poorly babies, but I am so glad that there are people like you who are able to do this job. You are a real life superstar xx

    Like

  3. Interesting view from the “other side” of the doors. I have never hold a baby before either. Like never. I wouldn’t know how to hold them and not drop them. It feels like they are so small and delicate.

    Like

  4. I admire you so much. I work as a nursery nurse and I’ve felt upset seeing one of children poorly at nursery, I can only imagine how difficult it must be for you. Well Done you’re making a difference đŸ™‚

    Like

  5. Newborn babies are super sensitive it feels that even the slightest touch may cause harm to them. It seems like you really enjoyed this profession. Even I thoroughly enjoyed reading the post!!

    Like

  6. Until I had a child of my own, I would probably say I would be in the same boat as you. I don’t think it’s always a natural thing unless you have experience with it. I can’t say I have ever been a “child” person until I had one of my own and it all changed. Pre-baby I can completely relate with this post. I’ve worked in medicine and with kids and babies before but when they are in such a more vulnerable state it’s so much more daunting. Beautiful post and it was wonderful to read.

    Like

Leave a Reply

