Things your Mom can not Do when she has a chronic illness

Hello There!

Today’s post is a bet different, because I want it to be a more of (Group Therapy) than tips to be on the grind! The topic is What has been changed in your life when your parent has to live with a chronic, epidemiological illness! Life can not be the same!

 

Three years ago, my Mom was diagnosed with type 2 diabetes. Day after day I realize that I am missing  doing something with my Mom. I came up with this list, which might be a little childish!

  1. You can’t ask her if the weather is too cold or not. She probably has an altered thermal sensation, so if you wanted to confirm bringing your coat, you have to find another way! There are weather apps, weather news, and you can check out the weather yourself, But .. your Mom knows better!!
  2. You can’t ask her if the food is too spicy, too salty, or even bland! Because she has altered taste sensation as a result of a medication side effect! Besides, she follows special diet!
  3. You can’t go to places where the light is so bright and sparkly! or too load and crowded! She has to be in less disturbing environment, and she can not bear the photo sensitivity.
  4. She was not in mood to talk! Because she is in pain. She feels dizzy, and has blurred vision, and she is ready to sleep!
  5. You can’t eat a treat and share it with her, even though it used to be her favorite! Which is the most devastating things ever!

Do your parent have a chronic illness? What Do you miss with your parent?

5 thoughts on “Things your Mom can not Do when she has a chronic illness

  1. My mom has diabetes too. To the point,t she now has a cataract. I can really relate to what you’ve written. We’re currently getting treatments. But she’s had diabetes for more than 20 years now…

    Like

  2. Hi Gigi, So sorry to hear about your mom. Your list is not selfish at all. I miss talking to my dad as much as I used to. He had a stroke 8 years ago and it left his speech impaired. As a child he would give me “big” and new daily words to use and ask me if I knew what the word meant. 🙂 Although we no longer have conversations at length, he know communicates with me by writing down scripture for me to read. Parents are the best and find ways to communicate with us even in illness. I try my best to understand how he may be feeling. I imagine it’s frustrating for him. He’s a talker, joker and hard working man. I think not being able to work bothers him most. I wish you and your mom the best and many happy and loving days.

    Like

  3. I can definitely relate. My mother in law has diabetes (for a long while now ) and she is suffering from the same things you mentioned. I wish we could do something to make her feel better, I will appreciate any advice. I wish you and your family good health

    Like

  4. I can’t imagine how it feels to be diabetic. I’m sure was stressful to you especially when she couldn’t talk or eat. I really don’t think the list is childish to be honest. You might be preparing someone else for what to expect.

    Like

Leave a Reply

